Why Matters
Who Matters
Your browser is out-of-date!

Update your browser to view this website correctly. Update my browser now


You matter!

We need you. We believe that science requires teamwork and this is the reason why we created ScienceMatters not only to publish single observations, but also to crowdsource science.

ScienceMatters needs scientists like you as handling editors, reviewers, authors, readers and supporters. Join us and be part of this movement in bringing about a change in science publishing by signing up here.

Scientific Advisory Board

24 people from 8 countries
Prof. Thomas C. Südhof, M.D
Stanford University, Palo Alto, Nobel Prize 2013, Chair of the Scientific Advisory Board
Prof. Kai Simons
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden, Germany
Prof. John P. A. Ioannidis
Director of the Stanford Prevention Research Center, Co-Director, METRICS, Stanford University, Palo Alto
Prof. Rudolph E. Tanzi
Director, Genetics and Aging Research, Mass. General Hospital, Harvard University, Boston
Prof. Iva Tolić
Ruđer Bošković Institute, Zagreb
Prof. Brian Nosek
Founder, Center for Open Science, Charlottesville
Prof. Michael Hengartner
President, University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Graham Warren
FRS, Scientific Director, Max F. Perutz Laboratories, Vienna
Dr. Paul Ayris
UCL Library Services & Copyright Officer, Chief Executive, UCL Press & Co-Chair, LERU Chief Information Officers, London
Prof. Victoria Stodden
University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Prof. Satyajit Mayor
Director, National Center for Biological Sciences (NCBS), Bangalore
Prof. Gisou van der Goot
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne
Prof. Anthony A. Hyman
Max Planck Institute of Molecular Cell Biology and Genetics, Dresden
Dr. Krishna Vadodaria
Salk Institute for Biological Sciences, La Jolla
Prof. George Lake
Director, Institute for Computational Science, University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Michel Goedert
MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge
Prof. Richard Hahnloser
Institute of Neuroinformatics, ETH University of Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Marcel Salathé
Swiss Federal Institute of Technology (EPFL), Lausanne
Prof. Volker Haucke
Leibniz Institute for Molecular Pharmacology, Berlin
Prof. Daniel Wyler
Institute for Theoretical Physics, Ex-Vice President, University Zurich, Zurich
Prof. Stephen Curry
Imperial College London, UK
Prof. Paul Wouters
Professor of Scientometrics, Director, Center for Science and Technology studies, Leiden University, Leiden
Prof. Ernst Hafen
Deputy Head of Institute for Molecular Systems Biology, ETH Zurich
Prof. Effy Vayena
Institute of Biomedical Ethics, ETH Zurich

Editorial Board

If you would like to join our Editorial board, please click here.


Sciencematters AG
c/o [email protected]
Seilergraben 53
8001 Zurich
swissnex Building
730 Montgomery Street
San Francisco, CA 94114

Reach us at [email protected] | Follow us @SciMts | Like our Facebook